A Girl’s First Love – My Daddy

HABEEBY! Tis my Dad’s birthday and am as excited like it is mine.

Every girl falls in love for the first time with that strong arm, ready smile and open face that throws her into the air and is sure to always catch her……… the first male she attaches to, is usually, dad. He forms a concrete impression in her mind of what a man should be and if he does it right, she prays fervently for any man she ends up with to be just like him.

Today, I appreciate God for giving me you over 3 decades ago. I used to tell my friends “if i love any man half as much as I love my dad, that man would be extremely lucky”.

Growing up, I used to be daddy’s lil girl. He’d light up the room when he walked in, I could talk to him about boys(Only after I graduated LOL) but I could always trust him to lay it down straight. I miss being daddy’s little girl. I miss following you everywhere. I miss telling you not to eat the chicken’s skin at parties. I miss us being envied by your friends at Juma’at because I was always with you and they would call me “your first wife”. I miss the stories you used to tell us about our family’s proud history and the fables and jokes you used to tell. I miss watching late night movies with you when everyone else was asleep like our private secret. I miss you. Growing up is a bitch because I miss my Daddy!

All I want to say has been said in the “Daddy” song by BeyonceDad n girl. I will post it here for the sake of those unfamiliar with the lyrics(edited for my purpose o’course).

Read, remember why it is important to be the perfect daddy to your little girl and how much your little girls will always love you till the end of time.

MY Daddy by Beyonce Knowles(Edited by Moi)

I remember when you bought me my first bike and taught me to ride it

It was a pretty dark blue (You remember that? We were inseparable)

And I remember when you could do no wrong
You’d come home from work and I jumped in your arms when I saw you
I was so happy to see you (I was so excited, so happy to see you)

Because you loved me I overcome
And I’m so proud of what you’ve become
You’ve given me such security
No matter what mistakes I know you’re there for me
You cure my disappointments and you heal my pain
You understood my fears and you protected me
Treasure every irreplaceable memory and that’s why…

I want my unborn son to be like my daddy
I want my husband to be like my daddy
There is no one else like my daddy
And I thank you for loving me

I still remember the expression on your face
When you found out I’d been on a date and had a boyfriend (My first boyfriend, you should have seen your face)
I still remember the look on your face when a boy called the house

asking to speak to me….you looked like I had moved out of the house already

Words can’t express my boundless gratitude for you
I appreciate what you do
You’ve given me such security
No matter what mistakes I know you’re there for me
You cure my disappointments and you heal my pain
You understand my fears and you protected me
Treasure every extraordinary memory and that’s why…

I want my unborn son to be like my daddy
I want my husband to be like my daddy
There is no one else like my daddy
And I thank you for loving me

Even if my man broke my heart today
No matter how much pain I’m in I will be okay
Cause I got a man in my life that can’t be replaced
For this love is unconditional it won’t go away

I know I’m lucky
Know it ain’t easy
For men who take care of their responsibilities
Love is overwhelming
Lord why did you pick me
Can’t stop my tears from falling
I love you so much daddy

(Thank you, you’ve done so much for me. I love you daddy.)

I get so emotional daddy, every time I think of you
I get so emotional daddy, every time I think of you
There is no one else like my daddy
No one else replace my daddy…

(Lyrics culled from Genius)
9 thoughts on “A Girl’s First Love – My Daddy

  1. Now I wanna have what my Dad didn’t have, a daughter.
    Anyone who’s had the chance to witness the bond between parents and children of the opposite gender knows how this feels.
    God bless and keep your Baami as he adds this year.
    Your kids will celebrate you even more by the grace of the Almighty

    • Yesso. You need to have at least one girl to know what unconditional love is from your offspring. Daughters are jus wonderful balms for a father’s heart. I pray for u my friend to xperience this too
      Sent from my BlackBerry wireless device from MTN

  2. Happy Birthday to Popsie..May God grant him long life and peace..
    I wish i had that with my dad but i will make darn sure my kids get it with theirs…
    Great write up Babe..Keep writing…

Leave a Reply

